My 2020 ‘Person of the Year’

Nick Martinez
3 min readDec 11, 2020

While Time Magazine wants to take some time to commemorate their ‘Person of the Year’ for 2020, I thought it best to give out an even more important award; my ‘Person of the Year’ award. While 2020 was justly a tasking time in everyones lives, there were some major highlights along the way that deserve their recognition. I wanted to personally thank those who were most involved in making the high points possible during this godforsaken year.

My Final 4:

Rob Pelinka & Andrew Friedman:

What a year to be a Los Angeles sports fan. While there was the downside of not being able to properly celebrate due to the pandemic, there was a whole lot to actually rejoice in. Rob Pelinka (General Manager of the Lakers) and Andrew Friedman (General Manager of the Dodgers) both did immaculate jobs in shaping up star-studded teams worthy of winning championships. Those properly managed organizations did just that and brought back home two different championships in their respective sports. Two definite bright spots in 2020 that could not have happened without some genius minds forming these teams. Both Pelinka & Friedman definitely deserve their spots on this list.

Jersey Swap Vegas Bros:

Not really much to say here other than this might be the greatest tweet that I have ever seen. Two bros inspired by the worlds greatest athletes doing a postgame jersey swap out of pure respect. It brought me so much joy at the time of its release. I genuinely wish the both of them nothing but everlasting joy and happiness.

My Favorite Podcast Hosts:

Where would my life have been without some great entertainment? One of my main forms of daily entertainment came in the form of Podcasts. My favorite podcasts Pardon my Take (hosted by Big Cat & PFT Commenter), 2 Bears 1 Cave (hosted by Tom Segura & Bert Kreischer), and ̶C̶o̶n̶g̶r̶a̶t̶u̶l̶a̶t̶i̶o̶n̶s̶ ̶(̶h̶o̶s̶t̶e̶d̶ ̶b̶y̶ ̶C̶h̶r̶i̶s̶ ̶D̶’̶E̶l̶i̶a̶)̶ [actually yeah scratch that last one] brought me consistent joy and laughter during this year. I owe each of these shows and the hosts their proper dues on this list.

My Family:

While I faced a variety of troubles in my life this year, I had no greater rock to lean on than my family. Through all the ups and downs of 2020, I had them by my side. Whether it was the summertime ‘classic movie’ nights, amazing laughs shared over nothing, strong reliance on one another through hard days, or heated Catan game nights, the amount of memories shared this year are unrivaled. I truly do not think that I have ever been closer to my Mom, Dad, and brother before and I am truly happy to have each of them in my life. 2020 definitely proved how blessed I am to be a part of this family.

AND THE WINNER OF MY PERSON OF THE YEAR AWARD IS:

Game, continues to, respect game. Better luck next year family.

Songs played while writing:

Yussef Dayes Trio — Welcome to the Hills [Album]

Kid Cudi — Man On The Moon III [Album]

--

--