10 Foods That Look Better Than They Taste

Nick Martinez
5 min readSep 16, 2020

--

There’s a good amount of foods that come to mind when I think of foods that look better than they taste. Specific menu items from a variety of restaurants or foods from a variety of fast-food chains that end up looking nothing like they do in commercials/ads are all examples of ideas, but I wanted to be a tad more specific to the foods. I also wanted to narrow the list down to my personal 10 foods that I had in mind.

1. Cake Boss Cakes: Holy shit do these cakes look cool. I remember finally seeing one of these custom cakes at a party, only to get a piece and realize that it’s just some shitty fondant, rice crispy treat, and ‘meh’ cake. Also, that whole ‘everything is cake’ meme from earlier this year is always tied to COVID so it is now tied to negative memories. This one literally defines the genre of ‘looks better than it tastes’ that will follow.

2. Grapefruit: I can vaguely remember the first time that I tried a grapefruit as a kid. I thought that I had hit the jackpot on finding the largest orange of all time. I open that bad boy up and notice that it’s not just any orange, but an enlarged, pinkish, mystical orange. I was so excited to eat it and see what this florescent fruit had in store for me, only to discover that the grapefruit is just a forbidden orange.

3. State/County Fair Foods: I remember being so damn excited to try deep-fried foods and massive turkey legs at a country fair only to be severely let down by the disgustingness of it all. It is just overly fried, disgusting blobs of food with horrendous portions. It is the antithesis of cooking made with love. Soul-less food.

4. Raw Coconut Water (from the coconut): Every single time I would see someone drinking one of these bad-boys on vacation I couldn’t help but think “wow that looks amazingly refreshing”. It wasn’t until I went on vacation myself and ordered one that I discovered it was just some lukewarm, sugary liquid that was not very refreshing. Still makes for some cool photo-ops, but you’re not fooling me with this one anymore.

What an honest young buck

5. Gummy Bears: I may get some pushback for this one, but gummy bears are the most ‘ehh’ candy of all time. All that color and brightness just for some bland, rubbery flavor? I will take sour patch, red-vines, sour straws/worms, etc. 10 times out of 10 over just plain gummy bears.

6. Kombucha: This is now my 3rd (I think) time writing about this polarizing concoction. I still remember the first time I saw the drink all over social media and decided to try it. I was so excited to see the hype surrounding it as its bright, inviting colors drew me in; only to taste it and immediately think

Yes, now I love it in some convoluted way, but it still looks better than it tastes.

7. Bacon-Wrapped Foods: Maybe it’s just that I’m not the biggest bacon guy, but even when I liked it growing up I was always disappointed by these foods. It was almost always some type of meat wrapped in bacon. The bacon just overpowered the whole thing and just made for an odd mix of flavor. Broke my heart to finally try it and realize that I would never be cut out for Epic Meal Time.

8. Macaroons: These little colorful cookies always look so damn appealing, but always leave me with the strangest, unsatisfying taste in my mouth. The main argument is that I never have tried them from “a good macaroon place”, but if thats the case, then macaroons just generally aren’t as good as they look.

9. Matcha Lattes: Matcha isn’t necessarily bad, but it just certainly looks as though it would taste better. Every time I see one of these matcha lattes with the cute little foam art, I always want to buy one, but then I remember that I also have to end up drinking the whole thing. Just inferior to both coffee and cappuccinos so why would I ever order this one?

10. Peeps: WORST holiday candy of all time. That like coating on the outside of this disgusting marshmallow. One of the few foods I won’t eat. Get these out of my face.

If you have any issues with this list please make sure to leave a comment down in the comment section below! I promise to get to all of them!!

Songs played while writing:

Daft Punk — Homework [Album]

--

--